New Cabinet of Ministers sworn-in

The new Cabinet of Ministers commenced taking oaths before President Gotabaya Rajapaksa a short while ago.

The swearing-in ceremony is taking place at the Presidential Secretariat with the participation of many dignitaries.

Accordingly, 15 new Ministers have been appointed to the Cabinet of the interim Government. These Ministers will serve in their respective posts until the general election is held next year.

The newly appointed Cabinet of Ministers is as follows:

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa – Minister of Finance, Economic Affairs, Policy Development, Buddha Sasana, Cultural, Water Supply & Urban Development, Housing Facilities Ministry

Nimal Siripala de Silva – Minister of Justice, Human Rights & Legal Reforms

Arumugam Thondaman – Minister of Community Empowerment & Estate Infrastructure

Dinesh Gunawardene – Minister of Foreign Affairs, Skills Development, Employment & Labour Relations

Douglas Devananda – Minister of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources

Pavithra Wanniarachchi – Minister of Women & Child Affairs, Social Security, Health & Indigenous Medicine

Bandula Gunawardene – Minister of Information & Communications Technology, Higher Education, Technology & Innovations

Janaka Bandara Tennakoon – Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils & Local Government

Chamal Rajapaksa – Minister of Mahaweli Development, Agriculture & Trade,

Dullas Alahapperuma – Minister of Education, Sports and Youth Affairs

Johnston Fernando – Minister of Roads & Highways, Ports & Shipping

Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister of Passenger Transport, Power & Energy

Wimal Weerawansa – Minister of Small Medium Enterprise (SME) & Enterprise Development, Industries & Supply Management

S.M. Chandrasena – Minister of Environment, Wildlife, Land & Land Development

Ramesh Pathirana – Minister of Plantations & Export Agriculture

Prasanna Ranatunga – Minister of Industrial Exports & Investment Promotions, Tourism & Aviation

In the meantime, the State Ministers of the interim Government will be appointed next Monday (25), President Gotabaya Rajapaksa said addressing the ceremony.