Harin requests selectors to resign

The National Cricket Selection Committee could also be revamped by Sports Minister Harin Fernando, who has called for the resignation of all members of the selection committee, following Sri Lanka’s dismal performance at the World Cup in England and Wales.

The four-member selection panel headed by Ashantha de Mel consists of Brendon Kuruppu, Chaminda Mendis and Hemantha Wickremaratne.

Meanwhile, sports sources report that the new selection committee could consist of the members of the previous committee. However, the official of selection committee who had allegedly obtained a bribe of 10% of the match allowance from each player included in the World Cup team will not be reappointed, sports sources say.