Jaswar & Dakshitha contest for FSL Presidency

Football Sri Lanka’s (FSL) former president Jaswar Umar and Anuradhapura Football League President Dakshitha Sumathipala have submitted nominations to contest for the post of FSL President.

The nominations were accepted at FSL Headquarters on Saturday (19)
Jaswar’s faction handed over nominations for 13 positions from 13 football leagues while Dakshitha’s faction handed over nominations for 13 positions from 7 football leagues.

The FSL election is scheduled to be held on September 29 and 69 football leagues across the country will have one vote each. After hearing the appeals related to nominations, the final list is to be made public on September 4.

After handing over the nominations, Umar said that he regrets that a few people have created an unnecessary competition when all parties that love football have come together.

“I will win by a large margin anyway. If we could have run unopposed, then we could have gotten the ban on football lifted very soon. If that happened, we could have been able to send the national football team unofficially to Qatar to prepare. When handing over nominations, 10 have been forwarded from 5 leagues. Anyone can understand that they are lying from the beginning. They will be defeated on the nomination day itself,” he said.

Dakshitha Sumathipala, President of Anuradhapura Football League, said that a team of high standard candidates has been forwarded under him.

“We have no personal interests. Nominations were handed over responsibly. To move forward as a country, we need the support of the government and international sponsors. We have the league’ support and the support of voters. Our team delegates the duties. The right person is given the right position. We follow a decentralised administration. I will show how to win,” he said.

Nomination list of candidates:

Jaswar faction:

President: Jaswar Umar (Sri Lanka Football Referees Association), Vice Presidents: Ranjith Rodrigo (Negombo League), Dr. Manil Fernando (Kalutara League), Dilshan Nagahawatte (Galle League), P. Karunathilake (Sri Lanka Navy League), Executive Committee Members: Abdul Gaffar (Mawanella League), Jagath de Silva (Nawalapitiya League), Saif Yusuf (Mercantile League), Abdul Manaff (Ampara League), A. Nagarajan (Vavuniya League), Indika Thenuwara (Matara League), M. Rizvi (Kinniya League), female member Deepika Kumari (Biyagama League).

Sumathipala faction:
President: Dakshitha Sumathipala (Anuradhapura League), Vice Presidents: T. I. Uduwara (Wattala League), G. P. Peiris (Dehiwala-Mt.Lavinia League), Jagath Rohana (Janasathu Sewa League), Rohitha Fernando (Wennappuwa League), female member Harshani Ariyanatha (Deniyaya League), Executive Committee Members: Nihal Perera (Wattala League), A.G. Sunil (Wennappuwa League), R.A. Tharanga (Deniyaya League), N.Dissanayaka (Sri Lanka School League), Leo Fernando (Polgahawela League), and Sudakar (Janasathu Sewa League).