Decision on indisciplined SLFP MPs on Jan. 18

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) will take a final decision with regard to several of its MPs who had violated party discipline, on Jan. 18, says its General Secretary and state minister - Dayasiri Jayasekera.

Speaking at a media briefing held at the party headquarters yesterday (14), he said that a final decision on MPs S.B. Dissanayake, Dilan Perera, Vijith Wijayamuni Soyza and Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena would be taken then.

On the supervision of party senior - Prof. Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa, measures are being taken to appoint party organizers after setting up youth camps in electorates aimed to strengthen the party, the state minister added.

Those who wish to join the SLFP as party organizers should submit applications directed to former President Maithripala Sirisena and addressed to the party headquarters, he further said.

The SLFP currently requires talented young leaders who can work for the country  he said, adding that many intellectuals are ready to join the party as electoral organizers.

Will lose lotus bud if contesting as an allianceMeanwhile,  SLFP General Secretary also said that if the SLFP contests the upcoming General election as an alliance, the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna would lose their 'lotus bud' symbol.

Therefore, a decision should be taken by President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa, Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and former President Maithripala Sirisena on whether or not the symbol of the SLFP would be the 'lotus bud', he added.