Fmr Navy and Air Force commanders awarded highest military ranks

Former Navy Commander Admiral Wasantha Karannagoda and the former Air Chief Marshal Roshan Goonetileke had been awarded highest military ranks by President Maithripala Sirisena.

Accordingly, Admiral Karannagoda was promoted to the rank of Admiral of the Fleet while Air Chief Marshal Goonetileke was promoted to the rank of Marshal of the Air Force.

Admiral of the Fleet and Marshal of the Air Force are the foremost honorary ranks awarded to a Naval and Air Force officer during their military career.

Admiral Wasantha Karannagoda served as the Commander of the Navy from 2005 to 2009 and Air Chief Marshal Goonatileke served as the Commander of the Air Force from 2006 to 2011.

The extra gazette notification relating to the promotions was issued on Tuesday.

 They were promoted considering the outstanding gallantry, meritorious performance and distinguished service to the country during the humanitarian operation and the defeat of terrorism in Sri Lanka.

The appointments were handed over by the President on Monday 05.