SLFP initiates disciplinary action against six JO members

During a discussion held between President Maithripala Sirisena and SLFP ministers on August 22, it was decided to hand over a proposal to the SLFP Central Committee seeking disciplinary action against six Joint Opposition MPs.

Prasanna Ranatunge, Ranjith Soysa, Pavithra Wanniarachchi,
Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Kumara Welgama and Dilum Amunugama are the MPs facing the possibility of disciplinary action being taken against them.

Several of the SLFP Ministers within the government had on numerous occasions urged the President to take disciplinary action against these JO members who have continued to criticize the party and its leader President Sirisena during press briefings.