Minnows Afghans crush Cup holders England

Afghanistan created history when they recorded 69 runs win over defending champions England in their World Cup cricket fixture played at Jaitley International Cricket Stadium in Delhi yesterday.

It was a superb knock of 80 in just 57 balls with 8 fours and 4 sixes hit by Afganistan opener Rahmanullah Gurbaz and off spinner Mujeeb Ur Rehman who took 3 for 51 with valuable 28 runs which guided them to get this historic win over England.

The Englishmen had to chase 285 runs were bowled out for 215 in 40.3 overs while Harry Brook was the only successful batter scoring 66 in 61 balls with 7 fours and a six but others were failed to impress with the bat. Mujeeb Ur Rehman was named Man of the Match.
It was a an aggressive start from Afghan openers Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ibrahim Zadran and the pair added 114 runs stand in 16.4 overs.

The spinner Adil Rashid made the first breakthrough while Zadran was out scoring 28 in 48 balls with three fours while number three batter Rahmat Shah was unable to stay long time and Rashid accounted his second wicket in the 19 over.

Gurbaz who played an anchor role was to out unfortunately in a run out and that was the turning point of the innings. Ikram Alikhil also made valuable 58 in 66 balls with three fours and two sixes as a number six batter while two good knocks hit by Rashid Khan, 23 in 22 balls with three fours and Mujeeb Ur Rehman, 28 in 16 balls with three fours and a six guided them to pass 275 run mark.

The English leg spinner Adil Rashid was the most successful bowler having three for 43 while paceman Mark Wood took two for 50 and Reece Topley, Liam Livingstone and Joe Root shared one wicket each.

Chief scores

Afghanistan 284 all out in 49.5 overs Rahmanullah Gurbaz 80, Ibrahim Zadran 28, Hasthamullah Shahidi 14, Azmatullah Omarzai 19, Ikram Alikhil 58, Rashid Khan 23, Mujeeb Ur Rehman 28, Adil Rashid 3/42, Mark Wood 2/50

England 215 all out in 40.3 overs Dawid Malan 32,Joe Root 11, Harry Brook 66, Liam Livingstone 10, Sam Curran 10, Adhi Rashid 20, Mark Wood 18, Reese Topley 15, Mujeeb Ur Rehman 3/51, Mohammed Nabi 2/16, Rashid Khan 3/37