Kumar Sangakkara appointed as chairman of MCC’s World Cricket Committee

Former Sri Lanka skipper Kumar Sangakkara has been appointed as the new chairman of the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) World Cricket Committee.

The Sri Lanka legend previously held the post of MCC President, which will now be taken over by Mark Nicholas who succeeded Stephen Fry.

Kumar Sangakkara served as President of the committee since 2021. In the new role, he will be taking over the reins from Mike Gatting who served for six years in the role as the Chair of the MCC’s World Cricket Committee. The other members include Sourav Ganguly, Heather Knight, Justin Langer, Eoin Morgan and Graeme Smith.
Mark Nicholas has served on the club’s committees for cricket, marketing and Laws, Spirit & Ethos as well as the Main committee. He was also a part of the small working party that formed the principle of the Spirit of Cricket He is replacing Stephen Fry as President.

Henry Nicholas talked about his appointment, saying that he’s honoured to take up the role. He said that he’s looking forward to a greater involvement with the Club. He explained: “I am honoured to be following in the footsteps of many wonderful people who have had the privilege of being the President of MCC, none more so than two heroes of mine and mentors, Ted Dexter and Colin Ingleby-Mackenzie.”

“Lord’s is, of course, a special place and I’m looking forward to a greater involvement with the Club through the many projects with which we are presently engaged. I’m also excited by the many events which we have already planned over the next year.”

Apart from naming Kumar Sangakkara and Henry Nicholas as new leaders, MCC also appointed Chris Rogers as their new treasurer. He will be replacing Tony Elgood, who completed six years in the role.

Chris Rogers was appointed for a three-year term at the AGM in May. He was elected as a Member of the Club in 1977 and has served on the Club’s Finance committee since 2015. He is currently a non-executive chair at Wickes Group and a non-executive director at Sanderson Design Group and Kerry Group.