Matheesha Pathirana joins list of youngest players to win an IPL trophy

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) scripted history on Tuesday (May 30 )at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad as they clinched their fifth IPL trophy by defeating Gujarat Titans (GT) by five wickets in the IPL 2023 final.

CSK registered a thrilling win on the last ball of the match as Ravindra Jadeja pulled off an unbelievable heist and scored ten runs off the last two balls to win the game.
Apart from the usual big stars in the side, Sri Lankan seamer Matheesha Pathirana also played a pivotal role in helping his side clinch their fifth title. Pathirana also became the third youngest player to win an IPL trophy at the age of 20 years and 161 days.

Before him, Ravindra Jadeja (19y 178d in 2008 for RR) and Rahul Chahar (19y 281d in 2019 for MI) are the two youngest players to have lifted the coveted trophy in the history of the tournament.

The right-arm seamer had an incredible season with the ball as he finished as the third-highest wicket-taker of the season for CSK having picked up 19 wickets from 12 matches at an average of 19.52 and an economy of 8. The 20-year-old has been the find of the tournament for CSK as he’s troubled the batters with his slingy action resembling the legendary Lasith Malinga.

Apart from him, seamer Rajvardhan Hangargekar (20y 201d) also became the fourth youngest player to win the title. The 20-year-old played just two matches in the season and picked up three wickets.

CSK won the thrilling final on the last ball

Coming back to the match, after being put in to bat first, GT posted a massive total of 214/4 in their allotted 20 overs riding on a breathtaking knock of Sai Sudharsan (96 off 47). In reply, CSK managed to chase down the revised target of 171 (DLS) required in 15 overs, on the last ball of the match to clinch their fifth IPL title. CSK are now level with MI in terms of most IPL trophies won with both having five titles to their names.