gossip lanka

National squad named for Netball Championship: Tharjani included

The preliminary national squad of 20 people including Tharjani Sivalingam was named yesterday (9) for the Netball World Championship which would commence in Cape Town, South Africa on July 28.

Gayanjali Amarawansa will lead the team as the Captain and Asian Championship winning Dulangi Wannithilaka has been named as the Vice Captain as usual.
In addition, newcomer Malmi Hettiarachchi has also been called to the squad.

The Sri Lankan team, which is in Group ‘C’, will compete with hosts South Africa, Jamaica and Wales.

Ms. Thilaka Jinadasa is the coach of the Sri Lankan team.

The named squad is:
Thisala Algama, Semini Alwis, Shanika Perera, Hansima Dissanayake, Imasha Perera, Gayanjali Amarawansa, Rashmi Perera, Rukshala Hapuarachchi, Parami Kodithuwakku, Chamudi Wickramaratne, Dulangi Wannithilake, Malmi Hettiarachchi, Tharushi Navodya, Gayani Dissanayake, Chaturangi Jayasooriya, Dulanjali Suraweera, Gayathri Kaushalya, Ishani Madhushika, Tharjani Sivalingam and Bhashini Yoshitha.