Committee investigating four state banks commence duties

The four-member committee appointed to investigate irregularities in four major state  banks during the previous government has commenced its duties yesterday (27 Nov).

It is reported that several senior officials of the relevant banks are preparing to give evidence regarding the large scale corruption that has taken place in these banks.

It is said that 228 complaints have been received so far regarding irregularities in the banks.

The complaints were received from employees  and trade unions of the relevant banks and the public.

Former High Court Judge Sisira Ratnayake is the Chairman of the Committee appointed by the Minister of Finance and  Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, while the other members are Chartered Accountant Susantha de Silva, Retired Additional Auditor General W. Premananda and a representative of the Ministry of Finance.