Former ministers still occupying official residences!

Around 19 former ministers are still occupying the official residences that they were using while they were ministers, it is reported.

Although 20 of the newly appointed ministers had requested for official residences from the Public Administration Ministry, as the previous ministers had not vacated these residences, they are unable to provide the new ministers these official residences.
Dayasiri Jayasekara had requested for time to remain in his official residence, due to some medical illness.

The former ministers who are still occupying the official residences have been issued red notices asking them to vacate by this month.

When contacted, the Public Administration Minister Ranjith Madduma Bandara confirmed that the warnings had been issued asking these MPs to vacate their official residences.

These MPs only have to pay 10% of their salaries for these luxury official residences which are located in prime locations in the city of Colombo.