Five MPs dodge CID!

The CID had reportedly summoned five MPs for questioning regarding the clash which occurred within the parliament chamber as part of the investigations.

The UPFA- MPs who were summoned were Johnston Fernando, Prasanna Ranaweera, Niroshan Premaratne, Wimal Weerawansa and Sanath Nishantha.

They face charges of having obstructed the duties of the police officers who were called to the chamber by the Speaker and having attacked them.

Although they had been summoned for questioning on a number of occasions and to state their side of the story, these MPs have continued to dodge the CID and have so far failed to comply with the CID order.

Therefore, the CID said that if they do not respond to the final request, they would be issued a final warning through the courts as per the provisions of the penal code. If they do not comply with this order either legal action would be initiated against them, the CID noted.