Drawing funds by ministry secretaries: UNP to question in the house

UNF has handed over motions to the Secretary General of Parliament against Secretary to Prime Minister and secretaries of four ministries calling for a probe by Public Finance Committee in Parliament and by the Privileges Committee for allegedly
continuing to draw funds of the republic by notwithstanding the resolutions passed in the House.

UNF MP Patali Champika Ranawaka who announced their decision to media yesterday said motions have been handed over against Secretary to what he called purported Prime Minister Sirisena Amarasekera, Secretary Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs S. R. Artigalle, Secretary to Ministry of Commerce Bernard Wasantha Perera, Secretary Ministry of International Trade and Investment S. T. Kodikara and Secretary Ministry of Housing S. Marasinghe.

The motions said: "The secretaries notwithstanding the resolution of this House dated November 30, 2018 and in blatant defiance thereof is continuing to draw on the funds of the republic to defray expenses of Prime Minister and the other ministers." The five separate motions carried the same wordings. Each motion has been signed by Mr. Ranawaka, Lakshman Kiriella, Ravi Karunanayake, Dr. Rajitha Senaratne, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam and Arjuna Ranatunga.

“We decided to go ahead with these motions as a further steps against the continuance of the purported government despite the passing of no confidence motions and the interim order issued against the Prime Minister and the cabinet by the Court of Appeal,” Mr. Ranawaka said.(Yohan Perera)