Confidence motion in support of RW passed

The motion of confidence presented in support of United National Party (UNP) Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe was passed in parliament with 117 MPs voting for it.

The motion was presented by UNP MP Sajith Premadasa and it was seconded by MP Mangala Samaraweera.

The MPs of the TNA and UNF voted for the motion while JVP
MPs abstained from voting.