Committee to probe parliamentary impropriety

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya has appointed a committee to look into the recent incidents that took place in Parliament.

As per the announcement made by the Speaker, the committee comprises his deputy Ananda Kumarasiri, predecessor Chamal Rajapaksa and MPs Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Chandrasiri
Gajadeera, Bimal Ratnayake and Mavai Senathirajah.

“The committee will carry out internal investigations in addition to investigations carried out by the police,” the Speaker told the House yesterday. (Yohan Perera and Ajith Siriwardana)