Group of 15 boycotts SLFP CC

The group of 15 SLFP members have taken a decision to boycott the SLFP Central Committee meetings until the party leaves the government and none of the group of 15 members would be attending the SLFP Central Committee meeting scheduled to be held today (20) under the patronage of President Maithripala
Sirisena, said former Minister Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena.

Abeywardena said that previously the group of 15 had been invited to attend the SLFP Central Committee meetings, but they had notified the party in writing that the group of 15 would not be participating in it.

Even after notifying the party the SLFP had sent SMS alerts on September 18, inviting the group of 15 members to attend the SLFP Central Committee meetings. However, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena assured that none of the 15 members would attend this meeting.

He further noted that the SLFP should leave the unity government formed with the UNP as it is the need of the hour and the SLFP should come together in forming an SLFP led government.