UNP's 12 politburo members to meet on Apr.11

The newly appointed 12-member UNP politburo members will meet for the first time on Wednesday, April 11 to discuss on the new posts in the party, a committee member said yesterday.

He told Daily Mirror the committee would discuss the reorganization of the party select potential members for the posts in
the party. “However we will not take a final decision at our first meeting on Wednesday,’ the member said.

The politburo members are: Navin Dissanayake, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, Harin Fernando, Ranjith Maddduma Bandara, Mangala Samaraweera, Ajith P Perera, Eran Wickramaratne, J C Alawathuweala, Ruwan Wijewardene, Gayantha Karunatilleke, Nalin Bandara and Asoka Priyantha while UNP Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa and Assistant Leader Ravi Karuanayake will be ex officio members of the politburo.

The committee was set up to decide on the new office bearers but UNP Assistant General Secretary Akila Viraj Kariyawasam said the committee would act as a politburo with the authority to make vital decisions regarding the UNP in the future. (Yohan Perera)