Parliament prorogued

Issuing an extraordinary gazette, President Maithripala Sirisena prorogued Parliament with effect from Thursday midnight.

The next Parliament session would be commenced on May 8.

The prorogation is the period between the end of a Parliament
session and the opening of the next Parliament session.

During a prorogation, no motions or questions can be tabled in Parliament. It brings nearly all parliamentary business to an end.

The Parliament was prorogued for the last time on May 17, 2009.