gossip lanka

Commissioners appointed to OMP

President Maithripala Sirisena handed over the appointment letters to the commissioners of the Office of Missing Persons (OMP) at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday, Government Information Department said.

Mr. Saliya Pieris, PC was appointed as the Chairman of the
Commission while Ms Jayatheepa Punniyamoorthy, Major General (Rtd.) Mohanti Antonette Peiris, Dr Sriyani Nimalka Fernando, Mr Mirak Raheem, Mr Somasiri K Liyanage, Mr Somasiri K Liyanage and Mr Kanapathipillai Venthan were appointed as the members of commission for a 3-year period.

The OMP law was passed in Parliament in Aug 2016 and will now be operational.
The Budget for 2018 also made an allocation of Rs 1.3bn to establish the OMP.

The Commissioners were selected in an open and competitive process conducted by the Constitutional Council (CC) of Sri Lanka and were nominated by them for appointment to the President.

The OMP will be an independent body reporting to Sri Lanka’s Parliament and is expected to bring a degree of closure to surviving family members of Sri Lanka’s internal conflicts and will set the stage for sustainable reparations for victims and their families.