gossip lanka

More over-70 MPs this year

The newly-dawned year will see Sri Lanka’s parliament having more MPs aged over 70.

According to parliament.lk website, Ranil Wickremesinghe,
Lakshman Kiriella and K.K. Piyadasa will reach that age.

Many others are nearing that age, including Sarath Fonseka who is 67.

By 2020, parliament will have one-ninth of its MPs having passed 70 years of age.

Those who have already done that are Mahinda Rajapaksa, Karu Jayasuriya, Sarath Amunugama, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, R. Sampanthan, Gamini Jayawickrama Perera, Chamal Rajapaksa, Chandrasiri Gajadheera, John Seneviratne, John Amaratunga,Nimal Siripala de Silva, D.M. Swaminathan, Mohamed Navavi, A.H.M. Fowzie, S.B. Nawinna, Mohamed Hanifa and Muttu Sivalingam.

An increased population of the elderly is a socio-economic issue faced by Sri Lanka, with the over-60 group comprising 12.5 per cent of the population in 2011.

By 2025, that figure is expected to rise to 16.7 pc.